israrul hasan

Farming Status and Plans

Farming status:

Not currently farming

Description of farming status, plans, and practices:

interesetd in starting a small farm - one to two dairy cows, chicken/eggs, and grow some vegetables. Just to start small, and take it from there for few years. Most of the stuff we grow/produce will be for family/friends consumption. Have large family and big network of friends. 

Description of marketing method:

everything we would produce is for family / friend consumption for now. 

Farm Characteristics

Preferred location:

Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Westchester

Desired acreage:

1-5, 6-10, 11-20

Infrastructure required:

Onsite housing, Barns or other facilities for storage of equipment, livestock, and crops, Water access

Description of buildings required:

on site housing is desirable, if not, would like to build small two bed room structure as we will be spending time there. 

Description of water access required:

if streams are nearby is excellent, if not, well water should do it. We would have few dairy cows, and water is a must. 

Crops and Livestock

Primary crops:

Vegetables, Fruits

Primary Livestock:

Cattle - Dairy, Goats/Sheep, Poultry

Description of livestock/crops:

few dairy cows, some goats/sheeps, chicken, eggs.

Farmland Tenure

Tenure options desired:

For Lease, Partnership, For Sale

Description of tenure options desired:

possibly for few years lease to learn, with an option to buy the land / place if it's a sucessful venture. 

Additional Information

Experience & education:

Formal agricultural education, Farm internship/apprenticeship

Experience description:

Have some experience in farm managment. Wife and I grow up on farms (oversees not in the US) - used to own land, however, we always had people working on our land. So, never had direct experience.