Sean Wells

Farming Status and Plans

Farming status:

Not currently farming

Description of farming status, plans, and practices:

Not currently farming, own 11 laying hens and 2 Miniature Jersey heifers never been bred, looking to do so soon. Currently own just under 2 acres but looking for a location to start medium to larger scale pasture poultry meat birds and laying hens, grassfed beef, and pigs. Also looking to start construction on permaculture food forest to work in conjuction with the animals to revitalize the land and produce an abundance within limited space. 

Description of marketing method:

Facebook and craigslist ads. Friends and relationships in the food industry., 

Does this farmer have a business plan?

In progress

Farm Characteristics

Preferred location:

Orange, Ulster, Southeast

Desired acreage:

1-5, 6-10, 11-20

Infrastructure required:

Water access

Description of water access required:

livestock potable, available through winter a plus.

Crops and Livestock

Primary crops:

Vegetables, Fruits, Hay

Primary Livestock:

Cattle - Beef, Cattle - Dairy, Goats/Sheep, Pigs, Poultry, Other livestock

Description of livestock/crops:

Beef and dairy hopefully both jersey breed (best tasting beef) but possibly dexters

Corninsh cross and red ranger meat birds and a variety of egg layers

Pigs(no more than 10 at a time) 

Only time will tell for the rest. We are still young.

Farmland Tenure

Tenure options desired:

Farm Management, For Lease, Partnership, Other Tenure Agreement

Description of tenure options desired:

I would like to rent or lease property, but if someone has an operation that is established that I am interested in, I would definitely consider a management/employment opportunity where I could learn from. 

Additional Information

Will this farmer's operation qualify an eligible landowner for an Agricultural Assessment?

Maybe

Experience & education:

Formal agricultural education, Farm employee, Farm internship/apprenticeship

Experience description:

Been raising my own poultry for 10 years, gardening small(ish) scale for the same period. I have worked on orchards for the past 5 years.

Whenever feasible, I love to participate in workshops and webinars.