andrew cuddy

Farming Status and Plans

Farming status:

Part time

Description of farming status, plans, and practices:

I have been raising goats for both meat and dairy the past 4 years. Also have a flock of approx 30 hens to support my small egg business I have been running the past 5 years. I successfully and profitably raised a small batch of cornish cross chickens this year that I rotated daily. I processed and sold myself. We also maintain a 500square foot garden and grow squash/pumpkins/zucchini out of our compost piles. I have spent many summers as a kid helping my uncle on his beef and goat farm in Pennsylvania. In recent years I have worked weekends at a horse rescue/ trail ride/ summer camp for 1 summer. last summer worked at a boarding facility. Doing all of the general labor including horse care, stall mucking, grounds keeping and helping make hay. My future plans are to sell my small acreage and expand to raising pork, beef, and sheep. I plan to do this with the help of my partner/fiance who is a culinary institute of america graduate with a bachelors in business management. I feel that our farm enterprise could go in many different directions. We are open to all of them, what really matters to us is being able to live a sustainable lifestyle close to the land and be able to bring good quality produce to our communities.

Description of marketing method:

I prefer a very direct marketing approach so far. I have worked for the MTA the past 5 yrs and have sold a ton through the hundreds of coworkers in my location. I have Iconsistent egg and garden produce buyers and sell any extras through word of mouth. I currently sell 40-50 dozen eggs monthly and I cant keep up with orders. I also run a Facebook page to market thtough and have utilized craigslist selling goats. My fiance sells a variety of our garden goods, hot,sweet,big,small peppers, tomatoes, onions, sphageti squash, beans etc etc through her connections she has made while attending the culinary institute in hyde pary,ny. I would like to expand and have many larger marketing ideas once I have the land and means to meet the demand of increased marketing

Does this farmer have a business plan?

In progress

Farm Characteristics

Preferred location:

Eastern, Albany, Rensselaer, Southeast, Columbia, Dutchess, Greene, Orange, Putnam, Sullivan, Ulster

Desired acreage:

11-20, 21-50, 51-100, >100

Infrastructure required:

Onsite housing

Crops and Livestock

Primary crops:

Vegetables, Fruits, Hay

Primary Livestock:

Cattle - Beef, Cattle - Dairy, Goats/Sheep, Pigs, Poultry, Other livestock

Description of livestock/crops:

I am most familiar with raising poultry, goats, sheep and some experience with herefords and beef cross cows. But I am open to any potential ventures if in a partnership with another farmer or landowner.

Farmland Tenure

Tenure options desired:

Farm Management, For Lease, Partnership, For Sale

Additional Information

Will this farmer's operation qualify an eligible landowner for an Agricultural Assessment?

Maybe

Experience & education:

Farm owner, Farm employee, Farm internship/apprenticeship

Experience description:

I have been raising my own goat herd for 5 yrs. At one point up to 20+ bred doe while I was on my own 15 acre property I have since put on the market in Hope's of larger gaming enterprises. I still have 7 of that herd and have had a egg layer flock over 6 yrs. I built a portsble pen and raised meat chickens this year which I then processed myself. I have taken summer jobs on the weekends for different style horse stables for 2 summers. One helping with trail rides and the other a pure boarding facility. My duties were feeding then turning out horses in the morning from stall. Watering and or haying if needed. Then a complete cleaning of stalls and barn. Complete grounds keeping, helping make hay, maintain gravel roads, repair fence, and bring horses back in to stall for night feeding. I also have experience working beef farms. Ever since I was a little kid I spent weekends on a tractor fender at my uncles farm in Towanda,Pa. He has a 60 head cow calf, he farms part Time. I have plowed, disked, helped him move round bales, cut hay on hillsides with 3pt sickle bar, shovel out barn, spread manure etc. I also work with heavy equipment at my fulltime job and am great in a back hoe or excavator. I grew up my parents small apple orchard helping maintain drainage and road ways. Have cut tons of fire wood and cleared land as a teen.