Christian Stovall

Farming Status and Plans

Farming status:

Full time

Description of farming status, plans, and practices:

I currently live in the Berkshires right on the New York border, and work part time in the Hudson Valley on a farm raising diversified livestock on over 1000 acres. I have many years of experience focused on intensive grazing management of cattle and sheep and a related college degree in the field. Last year, I started my own small livestock business raising 100% grass fed Tunis lamb. I have been grazing my own animals in Massachusetts on the border, but am looking to expand over the next years and move into the Hudson Valley, bringing my own farm operations there. My mission is to focus on maintaining and improving productive and healthy pastures through managed rotational grazing, harvesting high quality grass finished animals through this process. I am looking to grow my business and potentially look into grass finishing beef cattle in the future, but for now am primarily looking to expand my lamb production. I raise primarily Tunis lambs, which are a docile, heritage breed that grows well on grass.

Description of marketing method:

I market wholesale to a restaurant, and sell cuts through a farm store, both locations in the Berkshires.

Does this farmer have a business plan?

In progress

Farm Characteristics

Preferred location:

Southeast, Columbia, Dutchess

Desired acreage:

11-20, 21-50, 51-100, >100

Infrastructure required:

Onsite housing, Water access, Fencing

Description of water access required:

A hydrant to fill a water tank in a truck at minimum would be helpful, additional water access is ideal as well.

Description of fencing required:

Perimiter fencing is not required but helpful. 

Crops and Livestock

Primary Livestock:

Goats/Sheep

Description of livestock/crops:

I raise lambs for meat, primarily the tunis breed. 

Farmland Tenure

Additional Information

Will this farmer's operation qualify an eligible landowner for an Agricultural Assessment?

Maybe

Experience & education:

Formal agricultural education, Farm owner, Farm management, Farm employee, Farm internship/apprenticeship

Experience description:

I graduated from the University of Vermont with a Bachelor's in Environmental Studies focused on Agriculture and a minor in Animal Science. I own a small livestock business raising grass-fed lamb as discussed in my farming status profile. I have worked as a livestock manager for grass-fed cattle and lambs at a farm in Vermont, and for many years as a general Stockman in western MA and currently in the Hudson Valley.