Abdel Hosni

Farming Status and Plans

Farming status:

Not currently farming

Description of farming status, plans, and practices:

Sustainable organic farming. My experience is primarily with small plots (~1 acre), mainly on the land belonging to my family in Southern France. I have experience toiling/re-cultivating/composting, and growing local seasonal vegetables and fruits. Example of a little project in my mother's garden: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10150762765020062&set=a.10150762.... My experience is modest but my grandfather was a Morrocan farmer and I always felt my happiest on his land. What's more, my wife has a rare digestive disorder that has made our household very attuned to the source and quality of our food, and we are both now very passionate about learning as much as we can about sustainable and organic farming. 

Description of marketing method:

Sell eggs/poultry at the farmers market, online e-commerce and deliver around town/CSA.

Does this farmer have a business plan?

In progress

Farm Characteristics

Desired acreage:

1-5, 6-10, 11-20, 21-50, 51-100, >100

Crops and Livestock

Primary crops:

Vegetables, Fruits, Grains, Ornamentals, Hay

Primary Livestock:

Cattle - Beef, Cattle - Dairy, Equine, Goats/Sheep, Pigs, Poultry

Description of livestock/crops:

Open to working with and learning about all livestock and crops, though as mentioned my personal experience is with vegetables, fruit, and chickens. 

Farmland Tenure

Tenure options desired:

Farm Management, For Lease, Partnership, For Sale, Other Tenure Agreement

Description of tenure options desired:

I am looking to start as a farmer to move to a management postion, lease and owner. Interested in learning as much as possible. Therefore, open to all types of positions for the sake of developing a strong knowledge base for all kinds of farming. 

Additional Information

Will this farmer's operation qualify an eligible landowner for an Agricultural Assessment?


Experience & education:

Farm employee, Farm internship/apprenticeship

Experience description:

I grew up on my grandfather's farm and learned how to grow crops from him during the summer months when I was not in school. We collected vegetables and herbs from the garden for salads, collected eggs from the coup, my great-grandmonther used to bake the family bread, the meat (mainly lamb and chicken) was sourced on site. I also have experience in marketing, and have documentation experience of the harvest I created on my mother's land later in my life.

Additionally, I have 20 years experience in the hospitality industry as a server, bartender, restaurant manager, and coffee shop owner. Most recently I worked in high-end restaurants in Manhattan, but also have experience working in France, England, and Switzerland in hospitality. I have a diploma in computer sciences, and experience in advertising, entrepreunership, small businesses, app and website development, and novel writing.